Back to listBack to list

Leifur Eiríksson Foundation Scholarships

General InformationTypes Of Cooperation ActivitiesTarget GroupsFinancing
Country Code: P177
Name of Programme: Leifur Eiríksson Foundation Scholarships
Organisation responsible for the programme: Leifur Eiríksson Foundation
Type of organisation: Foundation
Country: Iceland
Web Link:
Starting Date
Ending date
Joint initiative involving more than one Ministry? (if applicable)

Programme Description
General and specific objectives
The Leifur Eiríksson Foundation funds scholars from U.S. universities to undertake graduate research or study at universities in Iceland, and scholars from universities in Iceland to conduct research or study at universities in the United States
Priority actions
Recipients are chosen by the Foundation’s Board of Trustees. Up to $25,000 in project costs, including travel to and from the research or study site will be paid on the scholar’s behalf.
One scholarship per year (the Robert Kellogg Memorial Scholarship) is designated for a graduate student from Iceland to study at the University of Virginia, or a University of Virginia student to study in Iceland. Students interested in receiving this scholarship should apply through the regular application process.

Management and coordination
The Leifur Eiriksson Foundation, established in 2001 and governed by a board of trustees appointed by the Central Bank of Iceland, the Icelandic Government, and the University of Virginia, was founded for the purpose of providing recognition and financial assistance to further scholarly study and research through student exchanges between Iceland and the United States. This cooperative undertaking is a natural outgrowth of a number of cordial and productive relationships between Iceland and the students and faculty of the University of Virginia over the last fifty years.
Expected or achieved outputs, outcomes and impacts
 Web Xact Approved  W3C XHTML 1.0 Validator  W3C CSS Validator  WAI AAA Conformance
This website has been developed by ICF
on behalf of the European Commission (DG EAC)